• Welcome back to Pokécharms! We've recently launched a new site and upgraded forums, so there may be a few teething issues as everything settles in. Please see our Relaunch FAQs for more information.

DPPt/HGSS need serious d/p team help

can someone give me some advice on how to make my team better(moves,natures,abilities,etc.).i've been playing pokemon ever since pokemon red came out but im new to all these strategies and what not. i keep getting wrecked like a noob in pbr and i need help. serious help. so, just point out a few things i need to switch or replace and thats it. k thanks. P.S.- u can be as harsh as want. i dont really care. ;)

(Brave)Gyarados:
Ability-Intimidate
Moves-Ice Beam
-Thunder
-Hydro Pump
-Blizzard

(Adamant)Slaking:
Ability-Truant
Moves-Giga Impact
-Mega Kick
-Hammer Arm
-Body Slam

(Hasty)Sceptile:
Ability-Overgrow
Moves-DOuble Team
-Frenzy Plant
-Aerial Ace
-Endeavor

(Lonely)Infernape:
Ability-Blaze
Moves-Thunderpunch
-SolarBeam,Grass Knot
-Flare Blitz
-Close Combat

(Modest)Alakazam:
Ability-Synchronize
Moves-Psychic
-Recover
-Hyper Beam
-Shadow Ball

Last PKMN im not changing but you can change moves,nature,ability,etc...
(Naive)Luxray:
Ability-Rivalry
Moves-Ice Fang
-Thunder Fang
-Fire Fang
-Thunder

k thats it. remember feel free to be harsh if it means getting your point across and helping me. ;)

I see why you keep getting 'wrecked', as you put it. Your team needs some work. For some pokemon, different natures are better, so you may have to catch more or breed.
Now onto the actual movesets.

The absolute LAST thing Gyarados needs is Hydro Pump. Aqua Tail is a million times better. Thunder isn't any good unless you set up Rain Dance first, so Thunderbolt would be a ton better. Two ice attacks won't help at all. Here's a good moveset:

Gyarados@Leftovers
Aqua Tail
Thunderbolt
Earthquake
Ice Fang

But for that to REALLY work out, an Adamant Gyarados is better than a Brave one.