• Welcome back to Pokécharms! We've recently launched a new site and upgraded forums, so there may be a few teething issues as everything settles in. Please see our Relaunch FAQs for more information.

Themed Pokemon runs.

Hello everyone.

I started something I have never tried before in a pokemon run. A themed run. In this case I was randomly assigned a trainer class and have to try and complete the game only with pokemon that I think that trainer class would raise.

In my current case I am going through Y as Maxwell, a young aspiring Gardener trainer. So I am restricted to Bug and Grass types for the most part with the exception of certain pokemon that I judge could be used for gardening or mention growing/taking care of plants in the pokedex entry.

I found this to be a fun exercise and I like trying to think up pokemon for the gardening assistance. Here is my team so far if you are curious:
Brambles the Chespin (M)
Benedict the Burmy (M)
Janus the Spewpa (M)
Dawn the Butterfree (F)
Chance the Shiny Bunnelby (F)
Pi the Panpour (M)
Since my theme is not too hard to follow without external help I am doing it in Y since it offers the most variety of pokemon overall. Some people run them as Nuzlockes as well but id rather take it easy for this run and just relax with it.

So have any of you ever tried something like that? Or if not would you like to?

AzureEdge

✧luzrov rulay✧
I'd probably do this. It seems interesting.
Now that I'm really thinking about it, I could do a run with my OC!
Definitely trying this.

Linkachu

Hero of Pizza
Staff member
Administrator
I've only attempted a single themed run before and I never actually finished it. It was a monotype Flying-type team that I raised during one of my various replays of Pearl, consisting of Swablu, Mantyke, Doduo, Gligar, Combee F, and Skarmory. In the end I gave up on the run at about gym 6 because despite me falling in love with my team, it just wasn't that fun. Not enough variety for my tastes. xp